Author Topic: Declan O'Sullivan struck by a handbag  (Read 8134 times)

Offline Deemeister

• Johnny Fortycoats
  • Little Miss Contrary
Declan O'Sullivan struck by a handbag
« on: January 23, 2012, 12:56:30 PM »
 from http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2012/0123/jfc_brawl.html

There have been calls for an investigation after a mass brawl marred the All-Ireland Junior Football Championship semi-final between Dromid Pearses of Kerry and Derrytresk of Tyrone on Sunday.........It is also claimed that Kerry star Declan O'Sullivan was struck by a handbag.

Obviously violence on the pitch and mass brawls aren't - but the imagery still had me laughing out loud in the office!

Offline beeko

• Bang Bang
Re: Declan O'Sullivan struck by a handbag
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 01:37:39 PM »
The story mentions that he was struck by a handbag and then struck by a supporter... is the implication that the handbag belonged to a player?

You can make all the friends you like in the world throughout life but the one biggest factor affecting the size of the crowd at your funeral will be the weather...
Words of wisdom from Frank Skinner.

Offline URoy

• Bang Bang
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 01:43:45 PM »
Paul Galvin checking out the durability of his latest line?

Offline whatever

• Bang Bang
  • Cumann O'Duibhir
    • O'Dwyers GAA
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2012, 01:59:45 PM »
Discussing this on Joe Duffy now

Offline Gonzo

• Johnny Fortycoats
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2012, 02:01:01 PM »
Work colleague was at the game. The handbag was a minor distraction compared to other events that went on. It was the worst he ever saw.

Online Counsel

• Luke Kelly
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2012, 02:42:57 PM »
Heard the start of it on Joe Duffy.  Sounded Nasty

Offline James

• Ronny Drew
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2012, 08:46:48 PM »
I saw this link on another site

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v954WVzDfMg

Nasty stuff but, it must be said, there has been as bad in club matches here.

Was the whole match like this - I haven't seen any other clips.

As for Joe Duffy, that man should be ...

Offline Ed Moroney

• Bang Bang
  • Just sip it and see....
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOS-XQ0oZYM
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2012, 08:49:16 PM »
ONCE AGAIN Portlaoise GAA grounds proves to be one of the unsafest grounds in the country for spectator access.

Offline Falcon

• Liverpool's Number 9
  • Bang Bang
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2012, 09:28:44 PM »
ONCE AGAIN Portlaoise GAA grounds proves to be one of the unsafest grounds in the country for spectator access.

I can't get over the fact fans actually jumped the hoarding to get involved in the row. Shocking.
When your halo slips for good you’ll have to wear your hood.

Offline onthehop

• Ronny Drew
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2012, 09:39:24 PM »
no.15 a guy with a bit of a smig for the tyrone crowd did the brave thing and nailed a lad from behind with a terrible brutal shoulder to the back, you can see it about half away in and the left side of the screen. he then did the usual hiding in the ground effort. weener

davedelap

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2012, 10:30:49 PM »
The powers that be need to stamp this shite out, the great game of gaelic football is turning into a slags game.
if at all possible those who entered the pitch should be identified and fooked out of the assocciation,
It's only a few months ago since the lad in New York was in a coma.

Offline Ed Moroney

• Bang Bang
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2012, 10:36:18 PM »
The powers that be need to stamp this shite out, the great game of gaelic football is turning into a slags game.
if at all possible those who entered the pitch should be identified and fooked out of the assocciation,
It's only a few months ago since the lad in New York was in a coma.
Nothing of conviction in and sense of the word ever happens.  Yer man in the USA incident is walking a free man.  If it happened on a street he'd be serving 20 years!

Its gonna take a life at this stage to be taken for the powers to act properly! No confidence in any aspect of discipline in the GAH...... twill be another long season!

davedelap

« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2012, 10:53:18 PM »

Its gonna take a life at this stage to be taken for the powers to act properly!
And that would be an avoidable tragedy. A leaf out of rugbys book is needed IMO with harsh penalties for those who don't respect decisions or take laws into their own hands. If this keeps up little Johnny won't  be allowed play gah.

Offline bummer

• Phil Lynott
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2012, 10:57:05 PM »
I can't get over the fact fans actually jumped the hoarding to get involved in the row. Shocking.

The subs I believe ;)

Online bart

• Bang Bang
  • once your gone 18, your passed it.
    • http://olderinireland.ie/
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2012, 11:01:58 PM »
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/archives/12317

Mate of mine texted me this link.

Read it and weep.

A sad day for the Association.
The Lord of the Rings is a Film showing a collection of Laois and WestM**th fans fighting against each other. Unfortunately its difficult to figure out which side is uglier then the other.

Offline Ed Moroney

• Bang Bang
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2012, 11:02:53 PM »
And that would be an avoidable tragedy. A leaf out of rugbys book is needed IMO with harsh penalties for those who don't respect decisions or take laws into their own hands. If this keeps up little Johnny won't  be allowed play gah.
Needs congress to vote.

I'll tell ye how that will go will I?

I still think there must be a GAA rule somewhere where the head man in the association has a veto over any decision or proposal.

Best a luck when a player dies on the pitch due to discipline issues.  You cannot say you didnt see it coming.