Author Topic: Declan O'Sullivan struck by a handbag  (Read 8134 times)

Offline Gonzo

• Johnny Fortycoats
Re: Declan O'Sullivan struck by a handbag
« Reply #64 on: January 27, 2012, 04:02:20 PM »
According to the papers the CCCC hope I got the number of Cs correct met but a decision could be a while off. Maybe they will refer it to one of the tribunals to decide. Good way to sweep it under the carpet.

Dont think precedence of not acting before is a defence unless you want it to happen again.

Offline beeko

• Bang Bang
« Reply #65 on: January 27, 2012, 04:11:22 PM »
This segregation lark has to be a wind-up, right?
You can make all the friends you like in the world throughout life but the one biggest factor affecting the size of the crowd at your funeral will be the weather...
Words of wisdom from Frank Skinner.

Offline Rufus T Firefly

• Bang Bang
  • Na Clairsigh, Ard Mhacha.
« Reply #66 on: January 27, 2012, 04:54:18 PM »
This segregation lark has to be a wind-up, right?

Not so unfortunately - it was in yesterday's Irish Examiner.

A read of the article leaves no doubt that in light of last Sunday, and the previous Crokes v Cross encounter, that they are seeking segragation on grounds of safety. That request however has received an awful lot of bad press since and Dr Crokes have attempted to claw back some ground by stating that the remarks were misinterpreted and that they were only looking seperate tickets for their underage supporters.
"And the meek shall inherit the earth." Peter Alliss on Larry Mize chipping in to win the 1987 US Masters.

Offline Lt. Aldo Raine

• Luke Kelly
« Reply #67 on: January 27, 2012, 09:02:09 PM »
Those of you against segregation should try sitting in the middle of a bunch of Rhode supporters!!!

Cannot believe the comments from some normally sane people here.  Derrytresk should be thrown out, no question. You have a nothing incident that turns into a major incident simply because their subs jumped the wire. This is the action of a bunch of scumbags and they were so quick to do it, makes it look like, well, let's just say they were primed.

The biggest bullshit argument is the "it takes two to tango" shite. I'm minding my own business and next thing I'm attacked by a bunch of subs who should be nowhere near it. By that logic, if I'm attacked by a mugger on the way home, fight him back, I'm partly to blame under the "two to tango" rule.

The Kerry conspiracy is nonsense too of course and people into this should watch Oliver Stone's JFK to get their fix tonight. I actually admire Dromid for saying what they believe happened - the cowardly thing to do would be say nothing so as to look like they're not sore losers. The brave thing to do is say what you saw and let the other crowd deny it.

Have relations in Tyrone playing club football and the hop the wire culture is a problem there and has been for years.  each county has disciplinary problems, we have loads ourselves, but there is a culture up there.

I do however wish that the same Kerry people moaning now about what was a shocking thing happen to them should have been just as vocal about the equally shocking behaviour of one of their finest in fish hooking a Cork player ( in two games ).

Finally, does anyone believe that Dromid would just make up the stuff about getting their nuts squeezed before the game?

I would throw out Derrytresk, actually reinstate Dromid and let the other finalists have a team to play as I'd imagine it would be a damp squib to win their all Ireland without playing.

A rule should be introduced that a club/county or whatever should be fined two grand for each sub who crosses the white line when not allowed to.  That would put a stop to it.

Offline kefola

• Johnny Fortycoats
« Reply #68 on: January 27, 2012, 09:15:21 PM »
I'm not suggesting it was the worst ever seen, but defending a murderer by comparing him to a serial killer is not a reasonable argument.
The reason this is happening time and time again, is because we have a brief media uproar - made more uproarious by the amount of cameras, phones etc at games - but then do nothing about it bar throw out a few small suspensions.
The GAA calling in the gardai, banning clubs from competitions for a year, and aggressors for life would soon bring an end to this.

Offline Rufus T Firefly

• Bang Bang
« Reply #69 on: January 27, 2012, 09:43:02 PM »
I'm not suggesting it was the worst ever seen, but defending a murderer by comparing him to a serial killer is not a reasonable argument.

Who defended Derrytresk?
"And the meek shall inherit the earth." Peter Alliss on Larry Mize chipping in to win the 1987 US Masters.

Offline Rufus T Firefly

• Bang Bang
« Reply #70 on: January 27, 2012, 09:48:49 PM »
Derrytresk should be thrown out, no question. You have a nothing incident that turns into a major incident simply because their subs jumped the wire.

Pity the Dromid number five didn't see it that way in the seconds prior to the Derrytresk subs entering the fray.

The biggest bullshit argument is the "it takes two to tango" shite.   I'm minding my own business and next thing I'm attacked by a bunch of subs who should be nowhere near it. By that logic, if I'm attacked by a mugger on the way home, fight him back, I'm partly to blame under the "two to tango" rule.

You saw no evidence in the video to suggest that Dromid were in anyway culpable?   ???

The Kerry conspiracy is nonsense too of course and people into this should watch Oliver Stone's JFK to get their fix tonight.   

Indeed. I suggest you take that up with Bart - that I recall, he has twice mentioned 'conspiracy' on this thread.

Online bart

• Bang Bang
  • once your gone 18, your passed it.
    • http://olderinireland.ie/
« Reply #71 on: January 27, 2012, 09:50:11 PM »
Who defended Derrytresk?

There is nothing to defend Rufus. You can't get the concept that jumping the fence as a supporter is unacceptable. It escalated  a row to a pitched battle.

Both of them should be dumped out.

Once O Connor's club was involved - considering his views on Tyrone football this was always a recipe for disaster.

This is a genuine question Rufus. Why do Ulster GAA peopl get so defensive when someone criticises them? Tyrone have had  major disciplinary issues for a long time now.

Brian Mc Guigan nearly lost an eye, justin mc mahon had his jaw broke last year, stephen o neill got be-headed another year. Picthed battlle between dromore and carrickmore.
The Lord of the Rings is a Film showing a collection of Laois and WestM**th fans fighting against each other. Unfortunately its difficult to figure out which side is uglier then the other.

Offline Rufus T Firefly

• Bang Bang
« Reply #72 on: January 27, 2012, 10:02:10 PM »
There is nothing to defend Rufus. You can't get the concept that jumping the fence as a supporter is unacceptable. It escalated  a row to a pitched battle.

I accept that - I am at a loss to explain why you say what you have said above!?!?! 

This is a genuine question Rufus. Why do Ulster GAA peopl get so defensive when someone criticises them? Tyrone have had  major disciplinary issues for a long time now.

Brian Mc Guigan nearly lost an eye, justin mc mahon had his jaw broke last year, stephen o neill got be-headed another year. Picthed battlle between dromore and carrickmore.

There are issues in Tyrone - I accept that. Derrytresk are guilty here and will have to pay the consequences - I accept that. However they should get a fair trial and in my opinion what is happening in the press will undermine the chances of that happening.

Online bart

• Bang Bang
  • once your gone 18, your passed it.
    • http://olderinireland.ie/
« Reply #73 on: January 27, 2012, 10:06:57 PM »
I accept that - I am at a loss to explain why you say what you have said above!?!?! 

There are issues in Tyrone - I accept that. Derrytresk are guilty here and will have to pay the consequences - I accept that. However they should get a fair trial and in my opinion what is happening in the press will undermine the chances of that happening.

How can you get a fair trial when their fans jumped the fence? That was the end of their defence. I think Tyrone have a major problem in their club circles up there. Thats not to say thats across the board in Ulster.

In fairness  Dr Crokes had no right to say what they did about Crossmaglen. I've always found Crossmaglen fans to be no trouble whatsoever.
The Lord of the Rings is a Film showing a collection of Laois and WestM**th fans fighting against each other. Unfortunately its difficult to figure out which side is uglier then the other.

Offline Lt. Aldo Raine

• Luke Kelly
« Reply #74 on: January 27, 2012, 10:14:58 PM »
Honestly Rufus I'm worried you might have got a knock on the head recently. There's nothing to defend here, can't see your view at all .

They should be straight out.  Singling out the number 5 or whoever form Dromid is a red herring.

Subs premeditated jumping the wire first chance they get - see you later Derrytresk.

Can't see any witch hunt that's not deserved.

Offline Rufus T Firefly

• Bang Bang
« Reply #75 on: January 27, 2012, 10:24:09 PM »
How can you get a fair trial when their fans jumped the fence? That was the end of their defence.

Denying them a fair trial would do much more to make our orgsanisation a laughing stock than any amount of brawls.

Do not mix up the notion of getting a fair trial with that of getting off without punishment!!

Offline Rufus T Firefly

• Bang Bang
« Reply #76 on: January 27, 2012, 10:28:44 PM »
Honestly Rufus I'm worried you might have got a knock on the head recently. There's nothing to defend here, can't see your view at all .

They should be straight out.  Singling out the number 5 or whoever form Dromid is a red herring.

Subs premeditated jumping the wire first chance they get - see you later Derrytresk.

Can't see any witch hunt that's not deserved.

Sorry Aldo - explain to me what I am defending, outside of the right for Derrytresk to have due process, and for the disciplinary process itself to examine the role of ALL guilty parties.

Offline Ed Moroney

• Bang Bang
  • Just sip it and see....
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOS-XQ0oZYM
« Reply #77 on: January 27, 2012, 10:32:21 PM »
Segregation at a GAA match?

If it happens, its an unbelievable new low for the association! In fact I would put it up there with significant events of the GAA like Bloody Sunday in 1920, The Queens Visit, the first soccer and rugby games at HQ.  I was against none f the last 3 mentioned, but I would be totally against any kind of segregation at a GAA match.

If it happens I would think very strongly of entering HQ under any circumstances.

Offline Lt. Aldo Raine

• Luke Kelly
« Reply #78 on: January 27, 2012, 10:33:14 PM »
How do you figure both parties are guilty Rufus ?

Seperately agree with Bart - what Crokes said about Cross was ridiculous and they'll pay for it on the pitch .

Offline daedalus

• Johnny Fortycoats
  • Hoppipolla
« Reply #79 on: January 27, 2012, 10:44:53 PM »
Entering the pitch is obviously the crux here. If the Dromid player(s) are found guilty of striking etc they obviously should get sanctioned, but i agree with others that once you have substitutes, mentors, club affiliates, even supporters running onto the field to attack players then i feel expulsion is the price to pay for that. Thats the problem for Derrytresk.

Rufus, they should of course get a fair trail, they will state their case but the evidence is irreproachable. Despite what occurs on the field, bad tackles, striking between players etc, you cannot have second parties attacking players. However, i get the impression the GAA will aim to brush this under the carpet!