All Things Horseracing

Imagine the squeaky bum time if you had 400K on a horse!!

Hes worth 1.3 billion, hed be alright :rofl:

Who was it?

Tony Bloom , owner of Brighton +Hove Albion, started life as a professional poker player , made multi millions setting up online poker and betting companies in early 2000s , 400k not to be scoffed at but he has it

So he won his bet
His horse won the race
Oh and he got the prize money

Had no bet in the bumper but delighted to see John Kiely get a winner, at 85 he must be the oldest ever Festival winning trainer. Mad fecker was riding out til a couple of years ago and all.

Yep there’s been a few good stories thrown in amongst the juggernaut owner/stables
Today was never going to hit the heights of yesterday , bit of a lull , not that any one cares if their winning money

He gave a lovely interview to RacingUk

All about Elliott and Mullins for me tomorrow, will be with this lot:

1.30 Mighty Potter - he’s short but if he can avoid a howler at his fences he’ll just win.
2.10 Maxxum - He did me a good turn at Christmas and I don’t think the handicapper has him yet.
2.50 Klassical Dream - backed him antepost, so just glad he’s making it here but remains the value in the race.
3.30 Blue Lord - Shishkin was hugely impressive LTO but I don’t like horses who had their only good run within 28 days of the Festival. On paper Blue Lord won’t stay but I’ve a theory Danny Mullins is riding Chacun Pour Soi here to set a sedate pace that’ll turn this into a sprint, which will suit both himself and Blue Lord.
4.10 Haut En Couleurs. Could prove a Grade 1 horse in a handicap and Micheal O’Sullivan has already shown this week he’s robbing his 3 lb claim. His jumping will need to hold up mind you.

Tomorrow
Mighty potter
Shiskin
Teaphoo
Haur des clouers
Dunboyne

Great piece of footage there parish really enjoyed that

Not my day so far. Thought Shishkin showed great heart there to rally for second in a race where nothing went for him. I’m pretty sure I got the pace thing right, in that Danny was trying to make it a crawl on CPS for Blue Lord’s benefit but BL just didn’t get home. The stayers like Janadil and Fury Road never had a prayer at that rhythm.

Bookies day, no doubt about it

They tend to get at least 1 per Festival and it’s often the Thursday.

Not anybodys only the bookies. Had a very good first 2 so cant complain

2 winners today already so can’t complain

Typical that the day I go heavy on the Mullins horses, he draws a blank. Either I’m a glutton for punishment or there’s logic in saying that won’t happen 2 days in a row, as I’m with plenty of his again tomorrow.

1.30 Gala Marceau - Don’t think she’s getting the credit for her win in the DRF on account of Lossiemouth’s misfortune there. Her keenness seems to have been overlooked and she now wears a hood to try to remedy that. If it works, she has a right chance here.

2.10 Hunter’s Yarn and Pembroke e/w. Between them, Mullins and Skelton have farmed this race over the past 6 or 7 years, so my approach here is to be with both!

2.50 Hiddenvalley Lake and Embassy Gardens e/w. This used to be a grinder’s race but class has come to the fore in more recent renewals and with the drying ground, I think it will again.

3.30 A Plus Tard and Stattler e/w. Took 15/2 about APT last weekend, glad I did as he’s half that price now. Stattler is too big at double figure prices, so am also with him each way.

4.50 Jeremy’s Flame and Pink Legend both e/w. JF is very solid and gets 3 lbs from the market leaders on whom she has a big experience edge. Pink Legend is the rank outsider but was beaten only 1/2 length in this last year, so 33/1 looks an insult.

5.30 Spirit Of Legend e/w. I was keen on Imagine here but the money for his Cullentra stablemate Cool Survivor has to be a concern from a gambling yard like Elliott’s. Cool Survivor himself looked like a horse that needed to go up, not down, in trip after his run in the 2M 6F Novice Hurdle at the DRF. Given that, my hunch is that if the Mullins yard really fancied Spanish Harlem he’d be getting punted off the boards but instead he’s drifting. I backed Spirit Of Legend at Christmas but he bumped into a Charles Byrnes handicap plot there at a time when the yard’s horses weren’t going. Now that they’re flying, he’s worth an each way shot at 20s.

By the way, times today suggested the ground was just on the easy side of Good to Soft. There’s about 3mm of rain forecast overnight, which ought to keep it about the same.

I freely admit to knowing shag all about Hunter Chase form. However I was put on to a lad named Darran Pearse on Twitter who does know a bit about it and apparently has a decent tipping record with them. His picks for the Foxhunter’s (4.10) for anyone interested are:

Famous Clermont e/w
Rocky’s Howya e/w
Dandy Dan e/w

Hector tipped Blood destiny last week on his podcast as the only tip of the week he was giving

Had a few quid on him on the strength of hectors tip, disappointing run.

He seemed to be the fancy of the stable wise guys but clearly didn’t run his race. Tough Thursday being followed by Frugal Friday for me.
I backed Stattler e/w at 11/1 last night. He’s almost twice that price now, presumably due to the drying ground. That’s an odd one as while the general perception is that he needs a slog, he belied that somewhat with his run at Tramore and is more proven on decent ground.