Kildare Vs Dublin -- Sat 3rd June@5pm - Nowlan Park

6 Day turnaround. Win and we’re back as firm favourites to win group. Lose and it would be likely third place and a tough away qualifier and 1/4 final if we get there ( and a big kick in stones at the same time).

Hopefully we win well. Anyone think there will be any changes to the team that started on Sunday, considering the injuries?

Wonder what criteria is used in the event that 2 teams finish on level points.? Probably score difference. Can envisage Roscommon and ourselves finishing on 5 points. Playing Sligo last is probably to our advantage-I would expect them to be as good as eliminated at that stage. Its really important to win the group. If a team finished 2nd or 3rd they could find themselves out 3 weeks in a row if they are to get into semis. Big ask of amateur players. Could be a case of last man standing getting into the semis. Squad depth will be severely tested. We have Murchan Jack Kilkenny Byrne and James Doubtful for Saturday. Having said that I do think we have a better squad depth than other counties. Lets see.
On another matter -would like to see the GAA announce dates venues and times for the last round of fixtures asap. There are 8 fixtures on June 17/18 in the final group match. Travelling fans need time to make arrangements.( expect Dublin v Sligo in Breffni Park -90 mins from each )

Cant believe Glen Ryan will be giving out about playing on a hurling pitch. Sure what would kilkenny know about football!!!

Davy Byrne’s left knee is already held together with strapping so not good to see an injury there. He was iced up on Sunday.

Hard to know what happened Ciaran - seemed to be full frontal but he was certainly grimacing and holding the shoulder on departure. Hopefully it’s just soreness and will wear off.

Jamesy walked off gingerly too but may have been just bollowed. ‘‘Twas a hot day though I believe there was a 6 point breeze in certain parts of the pitch.

Jack and Murch have lots of hammer issues - as do lots of speedsters. It never afflicted me I can safely say. If we could sort these two boys we would be in a better place.

Sligo won’t be eliminated no matter what the results are this weekend, don’t think any team can be eliminated until the last day in this format.

Assuming all inj lads arent fit to start, I would go with below
Clucko
Gannon
Fitz
Newcombe
Bugler
Small
Lahiff
Diaz
Fento
Odell
Con
Howard
Costello
Ogara
Mannion

subs
Mcmahon
Paddy small
Rock
Scully
Murphy

Kildare will pack inside 25, no point having Con in there, they’ll be expecting Con inside, get him out the field and onball, kicking from outside the blanket.
Likewise howard as kicking option.
Strike runners in lahiff, bugler & odell to help break lines.
Aerial ability from fento, diaz, lahiff, howard, con in middle 8 to allow us go long from kickouts and secure possession higher up field before their setup is in place

Not really his game is it?

Simple request for Saturday, man mark the keeper if he’s being used as the pivot man. Solves the nonsense we saw last week.

a 6-point hurling breeze, that’s -4 points in football I think and 273 handpasses.

Saturday forecast is that it will be even hotter :fire::fire:

Con is well able to kick points from 40-45 yards out, he will also help to bring kildare players further away from danger zone, freeing up space for others

Absolutely nothing simple about that. Man mark the keeper and then they’ve another player free who will take his role . If we want to do a proper press and push up that involves our keeper taking a man to go 15 on 15. Do you think that is doable?

But will there be a light breeze or wind and what way will it be blowing and how many points will it be worth.

Wonder will Glen have learnt anything from Sunday or will he stick to his guns from the last game against them and whinge about the unfairness if it falls apart again for him

Pity the minor final is being played tonight in Portlaoise, it would make for a great double header on Saturday

Another og …

The view in HQ that Under 17s are put under too much pressure if they have to play as a curtain raiser to a senior game.

Just so theres no confusion its on tomorrow night, Wednesday in Portlaoise,