O'Byrne Cup 2018

Hey ho…here we go…barely time to wash down the last of the Christmas pud, before the Kildare Perpetual Misery Cup kicks off.

Round 1, Sat Dec 30
Round 2, Wed, Jan 3
Round 3, Sun Jan 7

Jesus. That’s just ridiculous. So much for shortening the season. Duffy and O’Fearghail really sold everyone a lemon there.

1 Like

Moved up a week to allow for the league starting a week earlier too, I presume?

That the blue stars game out the window?

So what happened HQ rules on playing in December…

1 Like

I think it’s clear now HQ can do whatever they like

1 Like

No great loss really. The bigger issue is lads not even getting a full Christmas week to themselves. Not sure what the interest will be from the public either. Will anyone be even sober by then :grimacing:



“Kicks off”? :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

OB Cup has to go, now that Super 8s are in. Play the Leinster Championship in spring

O’Fearghail was always a bollix. I never ever saw him kick a ball. And he sure as shit never hurled.

I need to take part of that statement back, as an old friend told me, he briefly played hurling at St. Pat’s.
I played one rugby game for St.Pat’s (Div 3). I am nor never was a rugby player.

I’d say most counties will go dublin route and play a panel of u21 or hopefuls not already in the panel, while the real panel are taking a break. All of these pre league competitions are now on last legs. The would blue stars game years ago was good craic but sadly think thats gone aswelll.

The O’Byrne Cup won’t worry “the Lads” they will be away on their team holiday from the 27th!

Well, this should be interesting.

Ah here, leave it bleedin’ ou’.

No doubt Colm O’Rourke will be delighted to see more Dublin lads getting a game.


Nice. Very nice.

DUBLIN (SF v Offaly)

  1. Andy Bunyan (Scoil Uí Chonaill)

  2. Ross McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes)

  3. Graham Hannigan (Castleknock)

  4. Brian Howard (Raheny)

  5. David Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s)

  6. Seán McMahon (Raheny)

  7. Gerry Seaver (Ballyboughal)

  8. Emmet Ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields)

  9. Aaron Elliot (Ballymun Kickhams)

  10. Kieran Doherty (St Jude’s)

  11. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

  12. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)

  13. Killian O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street)

  14. Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg)

  15. Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis)

  16. John Brian Carthy (St Jude’s)

  17. Craig Wilson (St Vincent’s)

  18. Colin Doyle (Naomh Olaf)

  19. Darragh Kennedy (Na Fianna)

  20. Eoin O’Brien (Castleknock)

  21. Tom Quinn (Castleknock)

  22. Ryan Deegan (Thomas Davis)

  23. Seamus Ryan (St Jude’s)

  24. Kevin Callaghan (St Brigid’s)

  25. Adam Rodgers (Ballyboughal)

  26. Chris Carthy (Naomh Maur)

  27. Niall Walsh (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER)


Surprised no Aaron Byrne , paddy small - assume not available ?

1 Like

Adam Rodgers is from clann mhuire.

Sure it’s all one out that way :wink:

I just took If from here https://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dubs-panel-named-for-obyrne-cup-opener

1 Like